discussion response 5 classical music

Discussion/Response #5: Classical Music

2222 unread replies.2222 replies.

    1. Choose one of the pieces from this unit’s listening.
    2. Pick one that stands out to you and briefly (1-2 sentences) explain why this particular piece “caught your ear.”
    3. What are the piece’s unique characteristics? BE SPECIFIC and use your textbook as your reference! This should be the main part of your mini-essay. This is not opinion – these are facts that you have researched.
    4. Cite your sources (Links to an external site.) – including your textbook. Points deducted for not citing references. You may use MLA format. (Links to an external site.)
    5. Response should be one-two paragraphs. Use full sentences, no abbreviations, and check your spelling for full credit.

    After posting your response, comment on TWO students’ responses. You may ask a question or demonstrate further understanding of the topic. Questions about CITING your SOURCES? Contact the Writing Center (Links to an external site.)


Listening #5


Listening Guide 14


Listening Guide 20


Listening Guide 16

Symphony No. 94 in G major (“Surprise”) (Links to an external site.)Haydn: "Surprise" Symphony -  Movt. 2– Movement 2

Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn

This is an example of the compositional technique used frequently in the Classical Era called “theme and variation.” It is the 2nd movement (Andante) from Franz Josef Haydn’s Symphony No. 94 in G Major, “Surprise”.

String Quartet n. 15 in D minor, K. 421 (Links to an external site.)Mozart: String Quartet in d minor, K.421(1783) – I. Allegro

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

An example of a string quartet by Mozart. This is the 1st movement (Allegro) from his String Quartet No. 15 in d minor, K. 421 written in 1783.

Symphony No 40 in G minor, K 550 (Links to an external site.)Mozart Symphony No. 40 (Franz Brüggen, conductor)

Composer: W.A. Mozart

An example of a symphony by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. This is the Symphony No. 40 in g minor, K. 550 and, like most symphonies, it has four movements:

  1. Molto allegro (Links to an external site.)
  2. Andante (Links to an external site.)
  3. Menuetto (Links to an external site.). Allegretto – Trio
  4. Finale. Allegro (Links to an external site.) assai

DON GIOVANNI (Links to an external site.)Mozart: Don Giovanni Opera(Commendatore Scene)

This is the final scene from Mozart’s opera Don Giovanni.

Here is a link to the text translation: http://themaingate.net/don_giovanni.html

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.